Memento Mori, Favorite Movies in Remembrance.

Last night when I got home from work, I heard the unfortunate news that Gene Wilder passed away due to complications from Alzheimer’s disease at the age of 83. Apparently he’s been suffering from the disease for three years but didn’t want people to know about it. This seems oddly reminiscent of David Bowie, with whom suffered from cancer for a little over a year before passing away. Nobody knew until after it happened. I guess when you’re a famous person, every aspect of your life is scrutinized and you get to the point where you just want to keep certain things to yourself, which is rightfully theirs to maintain in their privacy.

I know that Gene Wilder is an actor with a long resume, and with such a long list of movies under his belt, there’s no doubt that people have different favorites of his. But to me, Wilder will always be Willy Wonka. I don’t think I ever watched or will ever watch another movie with him in it because he is so ingrained in my visions of him as the eccentric chocolate maker from my favorite childhood book. To watch any other movie by him would break that vision that I have of him. It’s rare that I love an actor so much for one roll, but Gene Wilder was one of those rare actors. He made up my childhood. He helped me cultivate the world of pure imagination.

Here are some movies that have defied explanation from the past to today, at least in my books.

  1. A Christmas Story
  2. Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
  3. Jurassic Park
  4. Titanic
  5. Cold Mountain
  6. Me Before You
  7. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
  8. The Ring
  9. The Prince and Me
  10. The Lion King
  11. The Fox and the Hound
  12. The Green Mile
  13. Forrest Gump
  14. The Dark Knight
  15. The Fellowship of the Ring

There’s a couple that I didn’t watch until recently (The Green Mile comes to mind), others I didn’t watch until a few years after it showed in theaters and most I watched ever since I was little, even if it’s been decades since its release. What are some classic movies that you enjoy watching over and over again?

Tell me your thoughts.

