Writing

A Brief Discussion of Interests.

I don’t get cable, only the local channels. This is fine most of the time, but sometimes I miss watching certain shows. Sometimes I can get the shows through the library, sometimes I can’t. But when I am able to get what I want, whether it’s through my library or through SearchOhio, it’s the coolest thing.

Recently, I’ve re-visited River Monsters. This is a show that’s seen on Animal Planet. Jeremy Wade is a British biologist who travels to all the rivers and lakes of the world finding the biggest monsters that inhabit the water. He usually hears about a story of someone being attacked or killed by a mysterious fish in some part of the world and he goes out trying to find the fish that might be the culprit.

I love this show because he can find out what’s going on and de-bunk any myths and legends that have cropped up because of it. Sometimes he finds out something new about a fish that nobody knew about before. I got a season from the library and one of the episodes was of the Loch Ness monster. He tried every way to find things that might explain the sightings but couldn’t find anything. He then went to Iceland and Norway where there were a lot of Vikings and Norse mythology and tried to find something that might explain Scotland’s monster. I guess there were a few Vikings that went through the Loch Ness and saw a fish that might explain things. He ended up finding out about this northern shark that had adapted to the freezing temperatures of the Artic and decided that this might be the case at Loch Ness, that sometimes the shark would come up for pray and then go back out again.

In the end, he didn’t really know, but it was a plausible explanation. He’s just cool, he makes biology cool again. At least he makes it interesting.

In other news, I’m reading Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance. This is a great book so far and something I can see in real life. A lot of people in my hometown are Kentucky transplants just like Vance’s family and other people in his hometown. A lot of things going on in his life and the lives around him are what I can see in the people I see around town. It’s an interesting story and something that society rarely looks at. Maybe we should look more closely to the working class and what is working and not working with them and maybe find a way to encourage them to move beyond what they’re seeing in their everyday lives. I don’t have all my thoughts together about the book so I’m not going to spend a lot of time talking about it, but I think it’s something everyone should read at some point.

Tell me your thoughts.

