Stop fitting a square into a round hole.

When I was a child, I had a dream of being a veterinarian and a professional writer. In my mind’s eye, I had it all sorted out: I’d have my vet practice in the east and I would work there 6 months out of the year. Then for the other 6 months, I’d be out west somewhere in the mountains writing. This would be the best of both worlds, I thought. I’d get to work with animals and get to work on my craft.

As I got older, something seemed to change. My dreams of being a veterinarian somehow faded from my mind and even writing was precarious at best. Both came back to be over the years; in my junior year of high school, I took an anatomy class and I continued to write as fan fiction and other art. But even then, both would go back into the recesses of my mind. I forgot about becoming a vet altogether.

They say that you need to hold onto your dreams, pursue them with a rigorous sort of vigor that even gets the goat of the most avid dreamers. I say pursue your dreams with passion, but realize that sometimes dreams evolve and even fade into something else entirely. I think we need to notice when we no longer feel passionate about what we once loved. I think we need to acknowledge that sometimes we don’t want to pursue something because our values have changed. Our ideas are different and our hobbies have changed.

Maybe if we all acknowledged what has made us unhappy is not what we’re doing currently, then maybe we can go on to focus on something that does. How creative would the world be if we actually acknowledged this and moved onto something new and innovative. How connected and understanding would we be if we no longer forced ourselves into squares that doesn’t fit in the spot that was meant for someone else?

Tell me your thoughts.

