Facebook Unplugged.

I decided to delete Facebook.

It was something that I’ve been tossing over for a couple of years now. I’ve wanted to delete it because I’m just tired of it all. I was tired of the arguing, I was tired of the obnoxiousness of some people, I was tired of the silly little memes that people shared. I was just tired.

But I hesitated on deleting it.

I hesitated because there were a handful of people I truly cared about and seeing what they were posting about. I enjoyed seeing what they were doing in their daily lives. I wanted to delete everybody except these few people but I knew that there were a select few who would be offended by my deletion.

And even before I deleted Facebook, I deleted a few people, namely I hadn’t talked to them in a long time or hadn’t cared about what they posted anyway. A few others I deleted because they were obnoxious about their political posts and I couldn’t stand to read anymore of what they wrote. Sure, I took them out of my newsfeed so I wouldn’t have to look at them, but whenever I made a post that was vaguely politically, they would comment on it and be stupid about it, even offended. And it just got tiring after a while.

Now that I’ve deleted Facebook, it’s been a relief and it’s only been a day. I’m relieved that I don’t have to feel tension whenever I log in and wonder what I’m going to see today. It’s a relief to no longer have to see these things and sift through to the ones that I actually wanted to catch up with.

Maybe in a couple of months I’ll create a new profile, one that contains just the friends that I want to be connected with, but we’ll see. Right now I’m going to enjoy being without Facebook for a while.

I still have Twitter and I enjoy Twitter. Some people might have more intense feelings about it but right now it feels like what Facebook was before it blew up in popularity or whatever it is you want to call it. It’s simple and doesn’t require a whole lot from the user. I can follow the people I want to follow and make short, happy posts about whatever I want. It’s a shame that nobody uses it more, especially people in my circles. But whatever floats your boat, I guess.

I’m still struggling with the blogging bit, but I hope that I can slowly ease my way back into it. Maybe I just need to take it easy on myself and not set high expectations.

2 thoughts on “Facebook Unplugged.

Tell me your thoughts.

