Writing

A Writer’s Inspiration

The one question that people love to ask writers is this:

Where do you get your inspiration to write?

I think a lot of people ask this because they secretly believe that successful writers have divine inspiration from God and only those with such inspiration can write. I think there is natural talent in some people and there are those who feel pulled towards putting pen to paper.

To be honest though, I think that whether or not you have natural talent is nothing if you don’t sit down at your desk and just write. The more you write, the better you become and the easier the ideas flow.

This might not sound glamorous at all, but this is the experience that I’ve had when it comes to writing.

There have been times where I haven’t written for months at a time and when I tried to get back into writing and just pull something out of thin air, I couldn’t do it. It made me not want to write and then I was back at square one.

Once I took a class called “Enhancing Your Creativity.” We used a book by Julia Cameron called The Artist’s Way and two of the requirements were to write every day and go on an artist’s date once a week. An artist’s date is to go off on your own for at least an hour or more and do want *you* want to do in solitude. I found that my mind worked more, constantly thinking about things and when I did write stories, it was easier to get them out.

I flip flop between liking and hating Cameron’s book, but I do agree with the fact that if you write every day or work on the craft of your choice every day, then it’s easier to start and finish your work. You don’t need to wait for a divine inspiration. You don’t need to have an idea that’s perfect. It’s not going to look like Shakespeare in the first draft. All you have to do is to keep writing, keep thinking, and eventually you’ll be on the road to where you want to be creative wise.

Tell me your thoughts.

