Writing

On Writing and the Expectations of Women.

There are people who write on a regular basis. I want to know their secret. Do they plan their posts out and schedule them, or do they write them as they go along? It’s always interesting to me that people can write long interesting posts on the fly and make it look like they knew what they were going to write the whole time. I’m jealous of those kinds of people.

The big advice that I know is to never force a topic. It doesn’t matter how trendy the topic is or how much I want to write about that particular topic, if I’m not feeling the topic, then it’s not going to come out on the page. I’ve tried to structure ideas like an essay but it always falls to pieces. Kinda like politics. (I should be sorry about that last line, but I’m not.)

There’s a topic that I’ve been wanting to write about for a long time, but it’s so abstract that I don’t think it will ever come to fruition. The premise of the topic is “the expectation of women.” It seems like we grow up as a society with certain stereotypes and expectations and as we grow older, they mostly solidify or evolve into other predictable expectations. For example, the popular girls seem to run around with the same people and have the same “basic” interests and crafty things to sell. Perhaps I’m too stereotypical myself and only see the sides that have always been shown to me, but I don’t know. The perfect girls with the perfect life.

And then when you’re an adult, it seems like women are expected to get married, have kids, have the perfect house and if you’re really ambitious, have the perfect career. It seems that everything eventually cracks because you can’t keep everything up. Something falls by the wayside.

These are partial thoughts and ideas, of course. There may be people who disagree with my concepts. But maybe that’s the whole point: We only show one side of ourselves to the world outside, the side that everybody else to see and then we start feeling frustrated when we stereotype them. Perhaps if we become more authentic and truly let ourselves be ourselves and not just certain sides, then people like me won’t have to make those assumptions.

Am I odd? I don’t know. Will I make a whole post dedicated to meditating on the expectations of women? Probably not; I don’t have enough material to write about it. My fragments can only be just that: fragments.

Tell me your thoughts.

