Writing

Exposing My Soul.

Writing your thoughts down is a bit like being exposed. You’re writing your thoughts down and anybody can read what you’re thoughts were on that particular day. They can see your inner soul and your streamlined consciousness at that particular time. Is it really how you feel or is it something that you blurted out at the time and you suddenly changed your feelings within a few seconds after writing it down. You thought about it, you wrote it down and realized that’s not how you feel at all.

And isn’t that why we write, to write down what we’re thinking and see if we actually feel that way? Sometimes we have so many conflicting emotions raging within us that the only way to get it out and see what it is we’re dealing with is by writing it down. That’s the best way I can think of explaining it.

There is a book I read a few years ago called The Courage to Write and it describes the human fear of actually writing down our stories, thoughts, and ideas. We’re afraid of writing it down because we’re afraid of what other people might think of our product when we’re done. We’re afraid of being rejected, afraid of feeling like it’s not quite good enough.

The advice is that we need to continue writing in spite of our fear. We need to acknowledge that people aren’t going to like everything that we’ve written and write for ourselves and for the people who will enjoy our writing. Whatever anyone else thinks can only come with the territory.

This is easier said than down. We want to say that it doesn’t matter what anybody else thins about our projects, our creativity. But the fact of the matter is, we do. We write because we want validation. We write because we want others to see what we’ve written and support what we’ve written.

I still write anyway. I don’t write as much as I should, but I do write. I write because I need to write. I write because I don’t know what I’d be without writing.

Whether or not people think highly of me because of the things that I write will be up to them.

2 thoughts on “Exposing My Soul.”

Tell me your thoughts.

