I’m Sorry That It Took So Long…

I’m sorry that it took so long to blog. I really meant to write but…

I was busy.

I didn’t know what to write.

Life got complicated.

I give excuses to why it didn’t happen, and so do you. I know you do, because I’ve seen it way too often lately.

“I’m sorry there was a long hiatus but for the fact of this matter…”

Quite honestly, the fact of the matter is that you didn’t want to write. Other things were more important, other things were too interesting. The smell of the roses were much too strong to sit and write a little blurb of the days gone by. I get it. You get it. We all get it. Life happens. Don’t sweat it.

What I don’t get is all the excuses. Reading all the excuses of “Why I meant to write but didn’t do it.” I don’t really care now, you know? How about instead of apologizing for living life, how about I just write about it? Or start with something small, and then continue until you’ve caught up with everything that you ever meant to say.

Don’t worry, I understand. I’ve done it too. And now that I’ve read two or three of the same posts I’ve done explaining all the long absences away, I cringe, mainly because I did it too and now I realize how whiny and boring it sounds. It’s nothing personal, really. You’re a lovely person, truly you are. If you weren’t, I wouldn’t be following you, would I?

When we’re inspired, I’ll write passionately, feverishly. I’ll write every day as long they come to me. And there will be days where I won’t write at all. Sometimes weeks, maybe even a month or too. And you will too. I know, because I’m human just as you are. We all have our rainy, growing seasons. But like the fertile earth we sink our toes in, we also need to have our fallow time, as well. Let our minds rest. Let our spirits rejuvenate for the next planting season. Give yourself permission to do that. Even the most successful people out there needed to step away and rest. Take a walk, take a shower, make love, even.

There was an article once about this very fact. Don’t explain why you were away. Your readers don’t care. If they admire your work well enough, they will be happy to see you creating again.

Don’t panic.

Don’t turn yourself down.

When it comes back, you will know. It will come.

Tell me your thoughts.

