Transforming My Writing.

I’ve kept a journal since I was around eleven or twelve. Considering how old I am now, that’s more than half my life. I don’t know where those early journals are, my mom probably took them when I wasn’t looking and put them in the basement along with my other school things, but I do remember writing short little clips of things that were utterly boring. You know the kind, “I fed my dog today. It’s been raining, so she didn’t get a walk today. I’m about to eat supper, I’ll be back. Back–this is what I ate.” You know what I mean: boring things.

Then as I got older, my entries began to get longer. My emotions, as well as what I did. What people said to me and how I felt about them. My longing to have a boyfriend in high school, a secret wish for someone to ask me out on a date, or in the least out to prom (that never happened by the way, I guess people didn’t think I was the dating type.)

I still write about how I feel, especially my frustrations about the world as I come across it. Among other things, of course. But for the last few days (maybe even a few weeks), I’ve been writing creatively. You know, a couple of poems. Today was a stream of conscious. Short essays prompted by things I found on the Internet. This has allowed me to focus on my writing more and it’s made me think more about what I want to write.

It’s made me a better writer.

Technically, I know this. When I was in college, I took a couple writing classes, definitely not the academic writing kind. The more I focused on the art of writing, the better I became as a writer all around. The more regularly I wrote, the better I became.

And when I got in the habit of writing on a regular basis, the better my writing became.

People have always told me that I’m a naturally good writer to begin with without any kind of mentoring or any writing on a daily basis, but I find myself become even better when I do so.

I’ve realized that my journal writing has evolved. Allowing myself to write creatively in my private journal rather than coming up with daily logs has expanded me. Kind of freeing, to be truthful. Before, it was like I was writing to the expectations of the world of how a private journal should be written and at the end I felt kind of unsatisfied. Maybe now if I just write whatever comes to mind whether it’s everyday things or creative writing things I can move my writing up to the very next level.

Whatever that might be.

Another thing about journaling is that people expect it to be written daily, but I don’t think that is the case, necessarily. I think it should be written when the need overcomes you. Even though I believe this, I still need to work on this. It’s okay if I miss a day. It’s okay that I don’t have anything to say all the time.

I can be who I want to be.

I’m writing all this because I want to be a better blogger. I want to write what makes sense to me, and what makes me feel good. Of course I want people to read what I’ve written. Of course I want people to follow my blog and comment on what I’ve written and everything. But people aren’t going to read and follow and comment if I don’t believe in what I’m writing, if I don’t feel passionate about my writing. If I’m not writing about something I truly want to write about, then people are probably going to notice and they’re not going to want to read my stuff either.

I’m a random person. I will write what I want to write about. Niches are great when you have a lot to write about and follow it intensely. But I’m one of those people who write about something for several days before abruptly switching to something else. I have many different facets and I want to share as much as I can without feeling too exposed.

I just want to be a better writer. And in order to be a better writer, I need to be able to writer wherever my passions take me.

Are you along for the ride?

Tell me your thoughts.

