The Death of Hollywood.

I don’t watch a lot of movies or television in general. I’ve been that way since I was a small child. I just never got the point of sitting in front of the television and seeing flashing colorful images worm their way into your brain. Yes, I do watch it on occasion. And yes, I have my favorite movies and t.v. shows that I fall back on from time to time. But generally, I don’t get it, especially when I see people sitting in front of the t.v. for hours watching episode after episode of Gilmore Girls or whatever your show of the week is.

I could give you a whole list of reasons of why I personally don’t watch a lot of things, but today I wanted to focus on one thing that annoys me about the film industry:

They don’t know how to let go of a good thing.

You’ve seen it before: Hollywood finally gets enough brains together and create something brilliant or even fairly successful and then they all sit down a few months later and say “Holy crap, we did a thing. Let’s create a sequel so we can make more money off it. And when we’re done with that one, let’s create another one!” And another…and another.

Jaws. Pirates of the Caribbean. Law and Order. NCIS. And God forbid the superhero movies. They just keep creating another sequel, another season, another spinoff. They create one thing that was fairly good and entertaining and then they beat it to the ground until even the enthusiastic fans start banging their heads on the wall screaming “Make it stop, make it stop.”

That’s just me though. I’m sure there’s that one percent who are saying “But, Ashley…I loved those sequels!” Well, good for you. I’m so glad that you’re enjoying it all and helping them make their billions.

I just think that instead of beating the dead horse we need to actually focus on creating good content. Instead of reinventing an old classic or basing a movie off of the creative force of an author, we should just make our own. Make the film industry great again with originality! (Too soon for the political sensitives? I apologize.)

Of course I’m not enough of a snob to stop watching movies altogether, even the dumb ones. But it would be nice to see some originality and variety. Something other than space shows and raunchy humor. Until then, I’ll revisit my old favorites and occasionally watch something new.

 

2 thoughts on “The Death of Hollywood.

Tell me your thoughts.

