Life

Eatery

I confess that I’m not a big fan of food.

Don’t get me wrong, I like food well enough. I have my favorites and everything, but I don’t think it’s anything to obsess over.

To put it simply, I like to eat because it keeps me alive. I don’t eat it because I dream and obsess over it.

One of my pet peeves is when someone comes back from vacation and all they talk about are the places they ate out at. I mean, come on now: what places did you visit? Historical places, museums, beaches, hikes. Stuff like that. I don’t want to hear about exotic places and all you can tell me is that juicy hamburger you ate at the hole in the wall. I get get a juicy hamburger at a hole in the wall where I live. I want to hear about the places and things to do that I can’t do or see or visit at home.

That’s just me thought. And I get it, people like food. And talk about it. And all that. But it’s just not my thing. I just don’t like hearing about food all the time. I don’t even like hearing about people’s dinners and lunches they ate on a daily basis. It gets old. Fast.

I do follow some food blogs though. It makes me uncomfortable, so I read about food. Not all the time. But there are a few on my reading list. Granted, they’re the ones I click on the least but they’re there and sometimes I like reading them. And sometimes I’m surprised by how poetic these bloggers can make the food. It almost makes me want to eat it myself. And that’s probably the purpose of it all (but I won’t admit it, nope, not one bit.)

At least I make an effort, you know? People take the time to read what I have to say, even if what I have to say isn’t what they usually like to read, so I want to make an effort and diversify a little bit myself. Read a new blogger instead of automatically clicking on my favorites, my comfort readings/go to’s. It’s not much, but I try.

2 thoughts on “Eatery”

  1. I kind of relate. I don’t dislike eating per se, but I don’t understand people who get a lot of enjoyment out of eating and/or cooking. To me, these things are just means to an end; they aren’t entertainment or social activities. Being Jewish, this can be really annoying because a lot of American Jews get a little overly-eager to feed people. G-d forbid you leave a Jewish home without eating something!

    But in their defense, people who act like this are just trying to be nice. Food is something they enjoy and they are just trying to share it with others.

    1. Right! I don’t hate it, but I don’t see it as the social entertainment that others see it. You know? I’m just in the middle lol. I’ve been in the South and visited people at home who are from the South and they want to stuff you till you weigh like an elephant and guilt you into it. It’s kinda funny.

Tell me your thoughts.

