Writing

Writing Down My Motivation.

What motivates you to write?

To be honest, I don’t quite know. When I was a wee lass, I wrote because I enjoyed it. These days, I write because it’s the only thing I’m good at and I’m not quite ready to give it up. Not to mention that there are people out there who know I like(d) to write and to stop writing would probably surprise and even disappoint them. So I write because it validates their expectations of me writing.

My writing has changed over the years, of course. I used to write fiction, short stories mostly, though I aspired to write novels one day. Then I went through a period of poetry writing. Not because I particularly enjoyed it, but because it was easier than writing a longer piece of fiction.

Now I write short pieces of personal thoughts and muses. Essays and memoirs, one would say.

I’m not quite sure how I feel about that. I never thought about writing memoir and essay, to be completely honest. I always thought fiction was where it was at. But now that I’m older, I’ve discovered that there’s some delightful stories that people have written about their travels, their lives, their thoughts about certain things. They’re well written, intriguing, easily to get lost in.

As I’ve blogged, I’ve realized how important it is to share my experiences with others. How I’ve lived may not be original to the eyes of the world, but the world hasn’t seen life through my eyes before. And that is what makes it original and different.

I’ve become more confident the more I write. I’ve noticed more interaction, more likes and discussion. And that makes me happy, to my astonishment.

And perhaps that is my motivation, this response that others have. How I feel and what I think can draw people in and this is a power I can wield for good. And it feels good to create a positive response in others.

And that is something we must all strive towards. After all, the pen is mightier than the sword.

Tell me your thoughts.

