Two Years of Blogging and Counting.

Yesterday, I got a notification saying that I’ve been blogging here for two years now. I’m still a little surprised that it’s been so long. Every day I still feel like a new blogger: always struggling to find topics to write about, what my blog should look like, and what my blog actually is. I’ve read a lot about how bloggers should know what they’re blog should be about, the theme of it as it were, and tailor everything around what you’re trying to write about.

I struggle because I see so many blogs that have mainly one topic they talk about: food, photography, politics, sports, gender equality, fashion. You name it, there’s a blog about it. I just write about life. And genealogy. And writing. And creativity. I write about everything. So I thought to myself, “Well, you know, maybe I’m  a lifestyle blogger. Yeah! That’s what I am: a lifestyle blogger. I write about life and everything that happens in it!” But when I look for blogs under the tag lifestyle all I see is fashion. I don’t know a *thing* about fashion. I probably couldn’t write a post about the difference between a beret and a cap without doing some serious research beforehand.

I want to call my blog a personal blog because after all, it’s personal, but there’s no official tag for personal blogs in the blogging world, so I have to settle for lifestyle even if it doesn’t quite fit. But that’s probably just as well. I have a variety of interests and thoughts in real life, so why shouldn’t I blog about a little of everything? I don’t need to force myself to write about things I’m not interested in or continue to write about something long after I’ve run out of things to say about it.

So, for those of you who have followed me from the beginning or have started following me and watched as my blog grew, I thank you. I hope we can share many more travels together in the future.

2 thoughts on “Two Years of Blogging and Counting.

  1. I know the feeling! It’s not easy to conform to a specific “focus” so I often feel my (lifestyle?) Blog is all over the place – but those are the things I want to write about! Congrats on your two years and keep at it!

Tell me your thoughts.